Self Portraits

For my digital photography class, one of my assignments was to do a self-portrait. You may think oh, take a photo of yourself, thats not too hard but actually it is quite a challenge. Conceptually, I wanted to do something that would reflect who I am as an individual. I wasn’t sure where to start, so I looked for inspiration. I looked up self portraits in google images and the image below is one that showed up.

This self portrait is very conceptual but I really liked how simple it is. The subject is posed very naturally and the artist made good use of the negative space above the subject with the circle of words above her head. The image is great alone, however I think the words really enforce the message of the photo. It shows a piece of the subject’s personality.

I struggled coming up with a concept and I tried a variety of ways to get the look I wanted. It’s not only difficult conceptually but technically as well, you have make sure all the settings are correct before you can shoot the image which can be difficult. Luckily, being a graphic design student, I know a couple of the photography students. I enlisted my friend who is a photography student to help me with my self portrait.

We went to a couple different locations and I wore different outfits, I totally went all out for this shoot. We captured a lot of great images but I couldn’t decide on just one so I made a composition using a couple photos. I had a blast doing the shoot and it actually turned out great! Thanks to my friend as well!


Leave a comment