HDR Photography

Photography has always fascinated me, and as a graphic designer I have to have a basic knowledge of how photography works. One of the requirements for the graphic design degree at Colorado Mountain College is to take a digital photography class. I’ve always enjoyed photography but I’ve learned a lot from taking this course.

So for our assignment this week we have to take and HDR photo. You may ask what is HDR? HDR stands for High Dynamic Range photography. HDR photography is very technical but basically it is a set of techniques that allows a greater dynamic range between the lightest and darkest areas of an image. It also allows the image to represent a higher intensity of light and it pulls more detail out of the image. It may sound boring but it actually creates a quite striking photo. There are numerous examples of HDR photography all around us.

Here are two examples of HDR photos I found when I was looking through Google.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For my assignment, I really wanted to do an urban or scenic shoot however the weather was really bad the day I was trying to shoot. Therefore, I had to do my shoot at the Glenwood Springs Mall. It was a fun experience!

Here is my HDR photo

My HDR Photo

Leave a comment